Go to page content Go to searchbox Go to menu
Previous page

Planning & Licensing

Wednesday, January 31, 2024

6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Council Chamber

Cllr Joanna Kenny

You are hereby summoned to attend a meeting of the Planning & Licensing Committee which is to be held on Wednesday 31 January 2024 at 6pm in the Council Chambers, Municipal Offices, Marcus Hill, Newquay for transacting the business on the agenda below.

Agenda documents


Agenda items

  1. To resolve that pursuant to Section 1(2) of the Public Bodies (Admission to meetings) Act 1960 the public and press leave the meeting because of the confidential nature of the business to be transacted.

  2. 1

    To receive and accept apologies for absence

  3. 2

    To receive Declarations of Interest and Dispensations awarded in respect of items on the agenda.

  4. 3
    Meeting Management Issues
  5. 4

    To take as read and confirm as accurate the minutes of the meetings held on:

    i. DRAFT 17 Jan 2024

  6. 5

    To discuss or note any matters arising from the minutes under item 4.
    This is for information only unless specific matters/items are on the agenda for decision.

  7. 6

    To receive previously notified public questions, followed by verbal questions (if technologically possible) from attending electors of Newquay.
    Written Questions for the Committee should be submitted no later than two working days prior to the meeting in order that they can be included on the agenda.
    Please see the accompanying Public Information document for further information.

    In line with Standing Order 3(e), members of the public may make representations, answer questions and give evidence at a meeting which they are entitled to attend in respect of the business on the agenda of the meeting.

    In line with Standing Order 3(f), the time allowed under this item is 15 minutes unless directed by the Chair.

    In line with Standing Order 3(g), members of the public shall not speak for more than 3 minutes.

  8. 7

    To discuss and make comment on any active consultations in relation to Planning & Licensing matters and to receive feedback/updates.

  9. 8

    To discuss and make comments on Licensing applications

    i. NOTIFICATION - LA03 Hearing - Boardmasters

  10. 9

    To discuss and ratify decisions made under the 5 Day Planning Protocol and/or to discuss matters on previous Planning decisions

    i. PA23/07331 - Kayes Pharmacy 6 - 10 East Street TR7 1BH - Agree with Officer Recommendation to Approve

    ii. PA23/09161 - 1A Ocean Heights Ulalia Road TR7 2FQ - Agree with Officer Recommendation to Approve

    iii. PA23/10065 - 25 Bedowan Meadows Tretherras TR7 2SN - Agree with Officer Recommendation to Approve

  11. 10

    To receive Planning Applications to discuss and make comments as a consulted body.

    i. Please see the attached document - Applications-Info-Responses - 31 Jan 2024
    (an updated version of this document, detailing the comments returned to Cornwall Council, will be posted on this page in due course)

  12. 11

    To receive updates on Risk Assessments and make any changes to Terms of Ref. (if required)

  13. 12

    To receive reports from Working Parties and discuss any recommendations:
    i. Community Governance Review Working Party
    ii. Newquay Neighbourhood Plan
    iii. Parking

  14. 13

    To receive, consider and authorise the release of payment in respect of committee purchases in-line with Financial Regulations 5.2

  15. 14

    To receive and note the list of Correspondence and to refer or respond accordingly (if any, relevant to Planning & Licensing only)

  16. 15

    i. Cornwall Council - Weekly List of Planning Decisions
    ii. Local Council Planning Training: - Preparing for a new Local Plan for Cornwall - 28 February 2024 - 4pm
    iii. Presentation – Jampen Football Golf – 28 February 2024 – 5.30pm

  17. 16

    The next Planning & Licensing Committee meeting will take place on Wednesday 14 February 2024 at 6pm in the Council Chamber, Municipal Offices, Marcus Hill, Newquay TR7 1AF.

    Committee: Cllr J Kenny (Chair), Cllr S Thomson (Vice Chair), Cllr J Bell, Cllr J Brook, Cllr K Larsen, Cllr N Morris, Cllr R Souray, Cllr F Williamson.
    Substitutes: Cllr M North, Cllr S Hick.